theurbanfix

I’ve also just come across this debate between Edward Soja, Andy Merrifield and Maria Kaika on the future of urban studies, which took place at the University of Manchester a couple of weeks ago on 16 November 2012.

I wasn’t able to attend this or the previous day’s lecture by Professor Soja on regional urbanisation (which I will post when it goes up) so I’m glad I’ll be able to get to see it when I have spare couple of hours. This was organised by the excellent Open Space forum (though they don’t seem to have a website). There’s an audio recording of another of their events here, which I did go to while I was still in Manchester, titled ‘Every Revolution has its Space: from Occupying Squares to Transforming Cities?’ – the only time I got to see the late great Neil Smith.

I should also put…

View original post 83 more words

Leave a Reply

