Originally posted on citymovement:

I have finished reading Worlds Away: New Suburban Landscape, an exhibition catalogue published by the Walker Arts Center in 2008 for the exhibition Worlds Away: New Suburban Landscape. I realise that I am 4 years behind in discussing the exhibition and catalogue but I started reading Worlds Away because, as much as I deny it, I currently live in the suburbs. I would like to preface that statement by saying the small city I live in is sub-urban to Vancouver but is quite different to the many suburban communities that surround us. However, one thing that I have experienced is that the perception of where I live is suburban and along with that comes many preconceptions both good and bad. However, I have observed two stereotypes that really do seem to prevail here: 1) everyone drives a car EVERYWHERE (even if it is a 5 minute walk and it will…

View original 477 more words

Leave a Reply

